Desi in DC

August 31, 2007

Khuda Keh Liye

Its 1;40 am in DC. I have to be at work at 8, that means waking up by 6. Normally I would have been asleep 4 hours ago, but today I had something special to do. I had finally got hold of a link that would allow me to watch Khuda Keh liye. Yes I know I am supporting piracy, but I assure you I will go watch it on the big screen if it is released in the US and hence pay my dues.

The movie was beautiful, I was ready to cry at moments b/c I missed home, and b/c I am seeing what home is turning into. One of my closest and bestest- if that is a word, stopped talking to me when he was hit by convertititus. Or maybe it was his wife who had it, but I know he was a willing follower. Shoman beautifully has shown the contrast in this world. we’re all full of good and bad, the west no different then the east. I also appreciated the way he shows the humanity in the young kid, and how it keeps showing up everytime he is asked to do something, and how everytime he is brainwashed in the name of religion. Its like people forget their logic in recognizing the difference between right and wrong.

Why can we not have more religious leaders that actually pass a fatwa on something good and progressive and get some publicity about it rather then on everything that is bad and regressive. The most famous example being the latest Fatwa being passed in the NWFP that education for women is Haram. It’s so Haram that we have a haddith that says if men and women need to go to China to study, they should. I wonder how Maulvi Sahab is going to explain that.

My favourite line from the movie was ” daari to Abu jahal ki bhi thi” the idea being, how important it is to focus on spirituallity rather then the physical appearance of things. Why is it that our maulvis concentrate so much on prostitutes but not the reasons why these women have had to turn to such means to feed their family.

I am a much at peace muslim today after having watched the movie. I have realized the importance of knowing my religion, to defend it from its own followers, and too trust the value system that we grew up with, rather then one that is being imposed on us from these “religious leaders”.

I really must go to sleep now, but just wanted to jot these thoughts down.

over and out

1 Comment »

  1. hey,

    can you share the link where you found the movie?

    thanks
    nadia

    Comment by nadia — September 9, 2007 @ 8:10 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

