Desi in DC

August 15, 2007

Yeh Watan Amanat Hai aur Tum Ameen LogooN

Yeh watan amanat hai aur tum (hum) Ameen Loogon. For any Pakistani out there with even an ounce of patriotism, this song raises the question have we fulfilled the promise? have we kept the trust?

Looking at the news and seeing 5 different bomb hoaxes in different corners of the country in the last two days made me realize that even those who have kept the faith, their work is constantly being overshadowed by those who have forgotten their promise.

I am a young pakistani in my late 20’s. As a kid growing up, I wanted to do something that would make my nation proud – Watan aur khandan ka naam roshan kerna. It is strange how within a few years in fact within two years of graduating, instead of an immediate goal it becomes a long term goal, at the moment all one can concentrate on is to make ends meet and just get a job. A Professor once told us that we spend 90% of our time doing 10 % of the most unimportant yet urgent things that when we look back we realize we have wasted our lives and have not done anything concrete. We also realize we have not done most of the important but time consuming things that we thought we would alway have time for.

I apologize to my country for losing the faith. When I am away from my country, I so desperately want to do something to help it progress, when I am back in the country, I soon fall back into the indifference that seems to have taken over the country’s population as it tries to lead a a normal life while the country goes from one crisis to another. I pledge to try and do something positive- no matter how small.

Its been 60 years since Pakistan’s Independence. I agree that the country has come a long way. From hosting ministries on boxes and almost no furniture, to having motorways, bypasses, industries etc etc. But what have we as individuals done. the most common theme that I seem to hear are people’s frustrations about what is happening in the country, but i strongly believe that you cannot blame the actions of even 10 % of the population on the remaining 90. Cursing the nation is not going to do any good. I’ve realized if at the end of the day, all I do is be a good ambassador to my country then that is still better then doing nothing at all.

My dad once told me, that in mathematical terms if you were to divide a number by zero the answer would be infinity, but if you had even one person or number then one had control over the answer. Similarly if there is even one person willing to do something for our country’s future there will be hope and the problems contained.

Will you or I be amongst those people responsible for containing the country’s problems and helping it move forward??

I sure hope so!

Over and out!

A wanting to be an Ameen Pakistani!

PS: For those of you who have missed listening to the song you can hear it at the following link on All Things Pakistan http://pakistaniat.com/2006/08/14/mehdi-hassan-yeh-watan-tumhara-hai/comment-page-5/#comments

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

